5 Science Fiction Books I Want to Read

Illustrated by JonasDeRo

With SciFiMonth 2020 (click here to join) coming up in November I decided to look through my TBR and come up with the 5 Sci Fi books that I want to get to sooner rather than later. Fantasy is my comfort zone, but I want to get into more Science Fiction in the near future. I am excited to read all of these and I hope you are able to add all or at least some of these to your TBR as well!

1) Children of Time (Children of Time #1) by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Goodreads

I’ve heard that there are giant spiders in this one and all I can think of is Shelob from Lord of the Rings. Terrifying murder spiders aside, I have heard literally nothing but good things about this one and I’m so excited to read it!

Synopsis

A race for survival among the stars… Humanity’s last survivors escaped earth’s ruins to find a new home. But when they find it, can their desperation overcome its dangers?

WHO WILL INHERIT THIS NEW EARTH?

The last remnants of the human race left a dying Earth, desperate to find a new home among the stars. Following in the footsteps of their ancestors, they discover the greatest treasure of the past age—a world terraformed and prepared for human life.

But all is not right in this new Eden. In the long years since the planet was abandoned, the work of its architects has borne disastrous fruit. The planet is not waiting for them, pristine and unoccupied. New masters have turned it from a refuge into mankind’s worst nightmare.

Now two civilizations are on a collision course, both testing the boundaries of what they will do to survive. As the fate of humanity hangs in the balance, who are the true heirs of this new Earth?

2) Nophek Gloss (The Graven #1) by Essa Hansen

Goodreads

The beautiful cover for this one immediately got my attention and the synopsis solidified it as a Sci Fi I want to get to asap!

Synopsis

When a young man’s planet is destroyed, he sets out on a single-minded quest for revenge across the galaxy in Nophek Gloss, the first book in this epic space opera trilogy by debut author Essa Hansen, for fans of Revenger and Children of Time.

Caiden’s planet is destroyed. His family gone. And, his only hope for survival is a crew of misfit aliens and a mysterious ship that seems to have a soul and a universe of its own. Together they will show him that the universe is much bigger, much more advanced, and much more mysterious than Caiden had ever imagined. But the universe hides dangers as well, and soon Caiden has his own plans.

He vows to do anything it takes to get revenge on the slavers who murdered his people and took away his home. To destroy their regime, he must infiltrate and dismantle them from the inside, or die trying.

3) Columbus Day (Expeditionary Force #1) by Craig Alanson

This series looks so epic! The first in a so far 10 book series (book 11 should be published sometime this year according to Goodreads), this series sounds like it will be fantastic and so much fun! A military Sci Fi that I just picked up recently from Amazon, I’m so excited to get to this one!

Synopsis

We were fighting on the wrong side, of a war we couldn’t win. And that was the good news.
The Ruhar hit us on Columbus Day. There we were, innocently drifting along the cosmos on our little blue marble, like the native Americans in 1492. Over the horizon come ships of a technologically advanced, aggressive culture, and BAM! There go the good old days, when humans only got killed by each other. So, Columbus Day. It fits.

When the morning sky twinkled again, this time with Kristang starships jumping in to hammer the Ruhar, we thought we were saved. The UN Expeditionary Force hitched a ride on Kristang ships to fight the Ruhar, wherever our new allies thought we could be useful. So, I went from fighting with the US Army in Nigeria, to fighting in space. It was lies, all of it. We shouldn’t even be fighting the Ruhar, they aren’t our enemy, our allies are.

I’d better start at the beginning….

4) Outbound Flight by Timothy Zahn

Timothy Zahn is my favorite author when it comes to Star Wars books. His original Thrawn trilogy is my favorite Star Wars series and this standalone is a prequel story of that trilogy that I should have gotten to a long, long time ago.

Synopsis

It began as the ultimate voyage of discovery–only to become the stuff of lost Republic legend . . . and a dark chapter in Jedi history. Now, at last, acclaimed author Timothy Zahn returns to tell the whole extraordinary story of the remarkable–and doomed–Outbound Flight Project.

The Clone Wars have yet to erupt when Jedi Master Jorus C’baoth petitions the Senate for support of a singularly ambitious undertaking. Six Jedi Masters, twelve Jedi Knights, and fifty thousand men, women, and children will embark–aboard a gargantuan vessel, equipped for years of travel–on a mission to contact intelligent life and colonize undiscovered worlds beyond the known galaxy. The government bureaucracy threatens to scuttle the expedition before it can even start–until Master C’baoth foils a murderous conspiracy plot, winning him the political capital he needs to set in motion the dream of Outbound Flight.

Or so it would seem. For unknown to the famed Jedi Master, the successful launch of the mission is secretly being orchestrated by an unlikely ally: the evil Sith Lord, Darth Sidious, who has his own reasons for wanting Outbound Flight to move forward . . . and, ultimately, to fail.

Yet Darth Sidious is not the mission’s most dangerous challenge. Once underway, the starship crosses paths at the edge of Unknown Space with the forces of the alien Chiss Ascendancy and the brilliant mastermind best known as “Thrawn.” Even Jedi Knight Obi-Wan Kenobi, aboard Outbound Flight with his young Padawan student, Anakin Skywalker, cannot help avert disaster. Thus what begins as a peaceful Jedi mission is violently transformed into an all-out war for survival against staggering odds–and the most diabolical of adversaries.

Timothy Zahn’s unique mix of espionage, political gamesmanship, and deadly interstellar combat breathes electrifying life into a Star Wars legend.

5) Artificial Condition (The Murderbot Diaries #2) by Martha Wells

MURDERBOT!!! Enough said. No seriously, I loved All Systems Red when I read it during SciFiMonth last year. I started Artificial Condition almost immediately after, but for some reason didn’t get very far. However, this snarky security robot that just wants to be left alone to watch tv shows has my heart and I think Artifical Condition will be a fantastic continuation to Murderbot’s story.

Synopsis

It has a dark past – one in which a number of humans were killed. A past that caused it to christen itself “Murderbot”. But it has only vague memories of the massacre that spawned that title, and it wants to know more.

Teaming up with a Research Transport vessel named ART (you don’t want to know what the “A” stands for), Murderbot heads to the mining facility where it went rogue.

What it discovers will forever change the way it thinks…

What Sci Fi novels are you excited to get to? Let me know so I can add even more to my ever growing TBR!

10 thoughts on “5 Science Fiction Books I Want to Read

  1. I’ll be reading Nophek Gloss! Children of Time is on my list for “someday.” Shockingly, I don’t think I ever read OUTBOUND FLIGHT! There were a handful of standalone Zahn that came out in old cannon I never got around to, and I think that was one of them. Hope you enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great list and I have added quite a few to my list for SciFi November (right around the corner!)… I know you already have a TBR pile BUT do you think you could add one more? A recent read that I thought was pretty awesome is “The Code: If your AI loses its mind, can it take meds?” by Peter McAllister. In the future, humanity is using nano-bots to mine for resources on the dark side of the moon. An AI in charge of the operation goes haywire and a top engineer is sent to fix things before it causes the destruction of the moon, and the world! I was pretty interested in this book by the title alone, but once I started reading I basically finished it in one sitting. It feels really well thought out and although the themes are futuristic, it is not hard to believe that something like this could actually happen! It is full of edge of your seat suspense, moments of levity and lots of thoughtfulness. Definitely a must read! You can read more about it here – https://www.petermcallisterauthor.com/
    If you do check it out I would love to hear your opinion! You’ve got good taste!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s