Review: The Book of Koli by M.R. Carey (The Rampart Trilogy #1)

Rating: 10/10

Synopsis

Beyond the walls of the small village of Mythen Rood lies an unrecognizable world. A world where overgrown forests are filled with choker trees and deadly vines and seeds that will kill you where you stand. And if they don’t get you, one of the dangerous shunned men will.

Koli has lived in Mythen Rood his entire life. He knows the first rule of survival is that you don’t venture beyond the walls.

What he doesn’t know is – what happens when you aren’t given a choice?

The first in a gripping new trilogy, The Book of Koli charts the journey of one unforgettable young boy struggling to find his place in a chilling post-apocalyptic world. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and Annihilation

Review

You will notice I used the publisher’s synopsis for this book, which I only do every once in a while and with a purpose. I really loved reading The Book of Koli, so much so that I do not really want to tell you much about it. M.R. Carey has a written a beautiful gem of a story, and I want you to read it and find out for yourself exactly what make it so so wonderful. So, I will stick to what appealed to me about the book, but in doing so I will stay away from the major plot points.

First of all, the best part of this book is the character set. There are not very many, but the the few the reader is introduced to are all very unique and interesting. Mainly, though, this story revolves around Koli and his thoughts and experiences. The author does a really nice job of showing the reader the world through Koli’s eyes, and it is a full-service encounter. We get to see the good and bad. He becomes a character that you root for one minute, and then become incredibly frustrating the next. But there is no doubt that after spending so much time with him and getting his view of the world, Koli is a character you will grow to love.

The main supporting character is Monono, and, as much as I love Koli, I think she is my favorite. She is the exact opposite in so many ways to Koli, downright hilarious at times, and brings a lot of much-needed knowledge to the table. With the story being told through Koli’s perspective, the time he and Monono spend getting to know each other is precious to the story. They have many experiences together, and I enjoyed seeing them bond so much. The interplay between Koli and Monono is hands down the best part of this book, in my opinion.

I do not want to give much away about the story itself, except to say that I connected with it on a profound level. One would not think it just by reading the synopsis, but so much of it is relevant to today’s world. The issues that Koli encounters are our issues, too, and the themes of the book are extremely relatable. To me, this book is about power and marginalization, and how the struggle is real. We are all Koli, in one form or another, and that connection is what takes this book to another level for me.

The Book of Koli is one of my favorite books of the year. It is equal parts funny and tragic, and I cannot stress enough how relatable the characters are, especially for a story that is set in such a strange and outlandish place. I am beside myself to find out what unimaginable route this series takes next. M.R. Carey has made a fan for life out of me. I recommend this book for all fantasy readers, and for anyone who is looking for a story that is different and engaging.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Book of Koli by M.R. Carey (The Rampart Trilogy #1)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s